Learn additional facts not published anywhere else about Dale Begg-Smith and his Spyware distribution. Including my very own emails, his IP data, and much more. This entry is a follow up to my original post which you should read first.
New and exciting data for your reading pleasure
1) I previously reported that Dale Begg-Smith was a banned member of the GeekVillage Forums and posted in this thread. The post is signed “Dale Begg-Smith” and the member name he used was “adscpm”. During this period of time (5/2002) I owned these forums. I sold same in 10/04. Part of my duties was to warn members when they violate the rules. In this respect I sent the following email to member adscpm/Dale Begg-Smith. Please carefully note the email address of this member:
From: “Webmaster of GeekVillage”
To: dale@adscpm.com
Subject: NOTICE: your post removed from geek/talk Forums at GeekVillage.com
Date: Wed, 8 May 2002 12:09:44 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset=”iso-8859-1″
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.50.4522.1200
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.50.4522.1200
RE: member adscpm
Hello,
Please do not “push” threads to the top of the Forum list with an
unnecessary post. This violates our Rules and Posting Guide.
Your “push” post is no longer visible on the BB.
If you wan’t more exsposure then please consider paying to advertise.
Thank you in advance for your anticpated cooperation.
Best regards,
Steve Shubitz
Webmaster/Owner
http://www.GeekVillage.com
Tribal communication with like minded
natives at it’s very best!
————- End of email ———————
2) During the period of time (5/2002) that member adscpm/Dale Begg-Smith was posting and using the GeekVillage Forums, my own records indicate that he used the following IP and only this IP which is retained by the vBulletin script which runs this Forum:
142.173.11.206
This IP is and was located in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada where Begg-Smith lives/lived and ran his Spyware Network. The owner of this IP and the Class C block was his ISP who is:
Stentor National Integrated Communications Network
OrgID: STEN
Address: 110 O’Connor St., Floor 3
City: Ottawa
StateProv: ON
PostalCode: K1P-IH1
Country: CA
3) When I penned my original entry on Dale Begg-Smith I was also aware of the following press release which states:
“San Diego, CA, Nov. 11, 2002 — ValueAd has been selected by AdsCPM Network, a revolutionary pop-under internet advertising company, to provide full-service, customized advertising solutions for its customers. As the buyer of pop inventory of high-traffic sites, AdsCPM Network needed a respected online media delivery technology and advertising group, and chose ValueAd for its world-class, customized solutions and proven expertise in this field, and its dedication to customer service.”
“ValueAd AdXpress technology allows my customers to manage their campaigns and provides incredible targeting capabilities, said Dale Begg-Smith, President, AdsCPM Network, Canada. A bulletproof stable system (available) for a fraction of the price of their competitors has increased my profits 200%” Source – which indicates a date in 11/2002. Just in case this page is removed, you can also view the same page via the Internet Archive.
Obviously, both parties (ValueAd and AdsCPM) have an understandable and appropriate financial interest in seeing that the other party suceeds. Other parties have questioned the validity of the press release sited above, so lets document the relationship with additional details. In this respect, I sent the following email warning to member “ValueAd” which should in fact help support the validity of the original press release noted above. The email:
From: “Webmaster of GeekVillage”
To: “HostMaster” hostmaster@valuead.com
Subject: ABUSE NOTIFICATION – URGENT – from Steve Shubitz at GeekVillage.com – URGENT
Date: Fri, 19 Jul 2002 11:08:31 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset=”iso-8859-1″
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.50.4522.1200
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.50.4522.1200
RE: member ValueAd
Hello Vlad,
Thank you for your contributions.
I have reviewed your first post in the following thread:
http://www.geekvillage.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=102305
We have the original post which was:
ADSCPM.com
I would recomend ADSCPM.com for popups
Vlad Kogan
www.valuead.com
—end
The nature of this thread is a WEBMASTER looking for recomendations from other Webmasters on the best pop companies to use on HIS SITES. Please carefully READ the original topic starters post.
Your original post is a clear an absolute violation of our Rules and procedures. See the edit of your post for an explanation. Please insure that this does not happen again.
As much as I like you as a person and your lovely wife, I have a Community to run with rules that must be inforced. I’m truly sorry if you find our rules not to your liking. No hard feelings, just leave and never return. Geek/talk is not for everyone.
Please contact me privately BEFORE you post to a thread for guidence and help.
Thank you
Best regards,
Steve Shubitz
Webmaster/Owner
http://www.GeekVillage.com
Tribal communication with like minded
natives at it’s very best!
—————End of email —————-
Who is Vlad Kogan? Actually, a very nice Geek with outstanding skills whom I have met in person. During this period of time (7/02) my other emails and in person meeting indicate that his position with ValueAd was owner and the VP Business Development. I have determined that in 2005 ValueAd provided technology to AdsCPM. Carefully study the following page from the AdsCPM web site. Please note the text and links at the very bottom of the page.
4) Connecting the dots with another email address: Dale Begg-Smith also used an email address of “prodesigning@hotmail.com”
a. The following thread contains this email address and the post is a complaint by member budsinc of non payment against AdsCPM. AdsCPM owed money to the Budsinc advertising network according to the post. Part of the post reads:
“I am here to make a formal complaint. We have an account with ADSCPM and the webmaster agreed to pay us every 5 days through paypal. Anyway he asked us to e-mail him at his hotmail account with the bank info so we did and here is what followed:
__________________________________________________ __
Hey,,,
I need to know your bank address and your home address please. Since I am
sending from Canada I need some more info.
THanks
Dale
>From: “contact ” contact@budsinc.com
>Reply-To: contact@budsinc.com
>To: prodesigning@hotmail.com
— Snipped — See original post for more data.
b. The following thread contains a post by member “sumguy” which is dated 4-26-2002 and reads in part:
“You can contact Dale from ADSCPM at their personal address prodesigning@hotmail.com to get more information until the mail servers are back up.
c. Why am I obsessing over the use of this email address? Fasten your hard disk! The following post by “Dale” and using the same email address is very troubling since he is actively solicitng business from warez and cracks sites :
“Name:
Dale
Email address:
prodesigning@hotmail.com
wrote:
Advertising Proposal Hi,
Our popunder has been going for 4 months, now I am ready to buy all the traffic you get to your site. I am willing to pay you $1.5 cpm (per 1000 unique ip’s) that you send to my popunder (a popup that loads behind your page so it doesn’t bother your users). I currently have 10 other warez/cracks/appz sites with my popunder on them for 4 months now and I have never missed a payment. They say I am the best advertiser they ever used.” — Source – In case that link dissapears, you can also read the same data via the Google cache which is dated “Feb 19, 2005 11:20:09 GMT”.
Conclusions
I hope my additional research has provided enough data to enhance my original entry. The majority of this entry is unique to StopScum.com. Iv’e actually had most of these facts for a number of days and decided to hold them internally. I kept wishing that Dale Begg-Smith would “come clean” but that hasen’t happened. If you find my research of value, please contribute to your favorite charity.
The follwoing thread on the GeekVillage Forums contains additional information on this issue. Including a whois “walk back” on Freescratchandwin.com and a civil and respectfull debate on both sides of this issue.
This entry is a follow up to my original post.
